Post 0064: Frustration

Standard

So before I get into all of the good stuff that’s happened today, I have to get this frustration off of my chest.

Dear Internet Connection,

F#ck you and your finicky behavior. Your indecisiveness officially killed my motivation and drive to complete my assignment for tonight. Nay. My ability to complete my assignment.

Without your willingness to provide in our relationship I can no longer move forward.

I feel it is because you do not understand the requirements of this assignment. I must find a picture displaying the artistic concepts of harmony and unity, and I cannot do that without a connection to the World Wide Web, which you are so rudely keeping me from.

I am sorry I am not able to use one of the 2000 images I have in my screensaver folder. I am sorry that I must have a link to the original image along with the artist’s name. I did not create these requirements, and I feel you are unjustly denying me the sense of satisfaction I would get from completing this assignment.

In short, you suck. I wish you would catch on fire and burn so I could dance on your ashes. Until you start working again, I shall be thinking of you being thrown out a window for throwing off my groove.

Love Freya. xoxo

Gah. First world problems…

But it’s sooooo frustrating right now. I’m so close to being able to submit this assignment, and I can’t because the Internet literally just crapped out on me, and it’s 2 in the morning and Joshua is asleep. And of course the router is in his room, so I can’t just go reset it without being the creeper roommate.

Fuuuuuu….

Aside from that today has been pretty good.

It rained all day. Like, torrential down pour, tornado warnings, flood warnings, type of rain. It was pretty awesome since it sort of fit with what I wanted.

The sound of rain cast everything into this sort of soft hazy sound. It was dark outside, and not many people were around.

I ended up going to the laundry mat, so I got soaked, but it was worth it. Yay clean cloths. ❤

While everything was washing and drying I cross stitched and finished off the Percy Jackson book I’ve been listening to. I’m interested in seeing what happens in the last book.

I started a new cross stitch because I didn’t want to take my computer with me to figure out the backstitching for Joey’s gift. I haven’t been around a printer to make a hardcopy of my design, so I only have the computer file. Which is sort of lame when you want to be portable.

So yeah, I started on my cousin’s cross stitch instead.

I sat outside in the cool air while it rained and thundered and lightinged. It was really nice being able to stay dry but still be part of the storm.

After laundry was done I went to the pet store to get a bulb for Seth. I really feel like I should just give up on that endeavour. I got a bulb, but it wasn’t a heat bulb. It was a UV bulb. Basically it puts out sunlight. Not what Seth needs. He needs warmth and heat like me.

So I have to go back to the store… again… I’m getting kind of tired of driving around.

After coming back home and finding out that I got the wrong bulb I made chile and poked around online for a bit.

Around 2ish I laid down and napped before waking up and going into work at 5.

I got through one of my class assignments while I was at work, and partly through another one before having to go to the SAL lab in another building.

I saw Clavan while I was there. He told me not to clock in or out. That he was finalizing my time card, and that if I came into work tomorrow he would be very upset with me and that I had better have a good Thanksgiving.

I love my boss.

Lab wasn’t bad. It’s a huge class, so there were a lot of questions, but nothing I couldn’t handle. I gave up on the idea of being able to finish my second assignment. There were just too many questions to be able to get a solid flow going.

At midnight Frank took roll and most everyone left. A handful of people stuck around until 12:30. Since there wasn’t anyone who really needed help I was able to finish off my second assignment and began working on my third one for the evening.

Frank and I packed up and head out to the parking lot together. We talked a bit about games, and going to Cloak and Blaster, the pub I went to with Ari.

Eventually we got on to the subject of Thanksgiving and how I was going to be sitting at home, most likely playing World of Warcraft alone, since I was using all of my vacation time for Christmas.

His response was, “Seriously?” Like he couldn’t believe, me, out of all people, would be alone. And to be fair, normally I would spend it with friends and family, but all of my friends and family are out of state, so alone it is.

I sheepishly replied yeah, and explained why. To which he replied with an offer to spend the day with him and his family.

I was so warmed by his comment of, “I’ll put a plate down for you.”

I hadn’t realized how much I wasn’t looking forward to Thursday until I realized that I wouldn’t have to spend it alone in my room.

I’m going to text him tomorrow because of course it’s only after I’m halfway home that I realized I didn’t ask if I should make or bring anything with me.

I don’t want to show up with nothing. He’s being super nice with inviting me into his house on a family day. The least I could do is not being a mooch and bring something to contribute.

I also don’t know if I’m supposed to dress up or not. Knowing Frank, I doubt it, but you never know.

I had dinner once I got home and started wrapping up my 3 third assignment when disaster stuck in the form of no Internet connection. So now I’m left mildly frustrated (though writing is helping with that), tired, and with not much else to do other than sleep.

And F it all, wouldn’t you know that as soon as I finish typing that, the internet comes back up. After I have given up on finishing my assignment and resigned myself to sleep…

It can wait until morning. It’s so not happening right now. Sorry Internet, you had your chance.

2 thoughts on “Post 0064: Frustration

  1. Eek, it definitely is a first world problem but my goodness there is nothing worse than the internet going down. I rent a room in my landlords house too and it is so frustrating knowing that the problem can easily be fixed by pulling the plug for 5 minutes but you can’t get at it!
    Hurrah for Frank, it sounds like you are going to be having a fun new adventure for Thanksgiving, I’m sure it will be great.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s interesting how not having a connection to the Internet can lead to so much angst.

      And I agree. Hurrah for Frank indeed. He’s an awesome co-worker and even though it’s a little scary I’m looking forward to tomorrow.

      I’ll be sure to update you guys on how it goes. : )

      Like

Greetings traveler! Leave your tidings here.

