Prompt Page 0017: Embrace the Ick

Link

Think of something that truly repulses you. Hold that thought until your skin squirms. Now, write a glowing puff piece about its amazing merits.

I feel sort of lame for not having much motivation for the prompts recently. There’s just not much coming to mind when I read them.

Maybe that’s a lack of imagination on my part. But regardless of the reason I just haven’t been feeling all that inspired.

The title of this prompt interests me more than the actual prompt itself, and so, as I feel it has become the norm for me, I’m going to go off in a totally different direction than what is intended. : D

When I read the title “Embrace the Ick” I think about life.

All those moments that you don’t want to go through at the time, but feel accomplished for later.

There was an instructor at my gym who always pushed our class really hard. She was fantastic.

She retired about a year ago, but I’ll never, ever forget her.

She always had this saying, “Get comfortable with uncomfortable.”

I would always be so motivated by that simple phrase.

We can’t experience growth or change by remaining where we’re at, safe, comfortable, and complacent.

There has to be a little bit of uncomfortable, a little bit of ‘ick’ in order to propel us into action.

Even with the start of this freelance project I’m about to undergo, or the podcasts I create, stepping into a class I haven’t been to before, posting a new script online, posting a new piece of artwork… Even with things I have done over and over again in past and have been successful at, there’s this moment of fear, anxiousness, breathless excitement.

What will happen?

It is the unknown that causes fear, yet at the same time entices.

Things that we dread, are repulsed by, and pointedly avoid tend to be the things that if we confront makes us stronger. Which gives us a larger sense of accomplishment and purpose.

We overcame something. We were victorious. We DID something.

Screw the rest of the world and what they think. I conquered something I didn’t want to face. I’m a badass.

Without the ‘ick’ we don’t really appreciate the good when we have it.

Embrace all of life, ick and all.

One thought on “Prompt Page 0017: Embrace the Ick

Greetings traveler! Leave your tidings here.

