Prompt Page 0018: Burning Down the House

Link

Your home is on fire. Grab five items (assume all people and animals are safe). What did you grab?

I have to admit, this one is sort of hard.

I don’t have many things, and a lot of the stuff I have I’m not overly attached to.

I have a lock box full of important papers like my passport, warranties, and such that I would want to grab. Just so I could have all of that information and not have to start from square one after the fire.

My cell phone. So I would be able to let people know what was going on. So my family could still be in touch with me. And so my work and freelance clients wouldn’t be left wondering if I fell off the face of the planet.

My car keys so at the very least I could sleep in my car. I would still be able to get back and forth to work, and finding a new place would be easier since I would still be able to rely on myself for transportation.

My backpack, which is sort of like my survival kit.

It has my laptop, which has all of my work files, and most of my personal files. It has my portable hard drive, so I would have the backups of the files from my desktop computer. It has one of my sketchbooks, the one I am using for class, so I would have all of my current homework. It has a small range of art supplies, my chargers for my laptop and phone, as well as a toiletry bag complete with toothbrush, floss, toothpaste, and deodorant, among other things.

I would have made a better boy scout then my brother…

And as silly as this is, over everything else that I have, everything else that I have spent money on. Over my desktop, my external hard drive. Over my tablet, my cloths, over all of the cross stitchings that I have done. Over food and kitchen gadgets (except maybe my fry cutter… ) Over my sketch books and my box of cards and notes from friends and family.

The last item I would take would be my plushy dragon. My gift from my Mother Earth. I think I could be able to handle losing all of my technology better than I would be able to handle losing my little stuffed animal.

Everything else is a tool. Something to make my life easier, to make me function better. But this plushy is a sign of love and affection and I would be devastated if I were to lose it.

One thought on “Prompt Page 0018: Burning Down the House

Greetings traveler! Leave your tidings here.

