Daily Post 0054: Shins are the Worst Evolution Ever

Standard

It’s funny how 8:30 is a late start for me now. Only last month was I working 5pm and 9pm labs, which is what it looks like I’ll be working again next month.

I spent most of last night tossing and turning, trying to deny the fact that my legs felt like they were being beaten with a crowbar. At 2am I had a cup of green tea to see if that would help settle me down. At 4am I gave up and took Nyquil even though I wanted to be up at 7.

I ended up getting out of bed at 7:30, which surprised me. I’m not as grougy as I thought I would be.

I’m at the Laundromat right now. I’m washing my gi for the first time; the uniform I wear for aikido. I don’t know why that is important to me, but it is.

Yesterday was a pretty good day. Lets see if I can remember anything about it.

I had CRI1 lab. I didn’t do the grading during it. I opted to work on school work instead. Lots of reading about color. There was an article about where the whole “pink for girls, blue for boys” mentality came from. That was interesting.

There was an article about white weddings too, and how in many cultures color is actually used in weddings. It is not uncommon to see colors like red, green, and blue. White is actually more of a Western tradition. And a recent one at that.

Facinating stuff.

At 1pm I met with Rhonda and we went over her rigs and figured out a few issues she was having. That lasted for about an hour and a half.

I got through all of the grading after that which was nice. One major thing off my to do list.

While going through all of that we got an email back from Ray.

He was super appreciative of the video Tre created to show the issues we have with the models. He also said that if we could add in a wide / narrow function for the rig that we could be able to fake the diolague animations the company is looking for.

That made me do a happy dance inside. Same for Tre. That means we can ship our two files off to Ray today with the new tweaks. It also means that Ray knows what he’s doing, which is fantastic.

This project, for all it’s frustrations, has actually gone fairly smoothly, and both Tina and Ray have been understanding, if a little slow on the communication side of things.

Now that Tre and I know exactly what is needed for the other rigs the rest of the process should be easier. Especially since the other characters don’t have any crazy systems like wings that need to be created. I should be able to get my next file done, setup wise, today, and weight painting should be manageable by Friday.

Realistically, Tre and I could have this project wrapped up by the weekend if Ray doesn’t kick the files back for changes.

That’s a nice thought.

Tre and I talked about it for a little while before I left school.

I had enough time to run home, pick up my gi, the head to the dojo for taekwondo.

I was saddened to find out that Sensei Mike would not be teaching the class. One of his brothers passed away. My heart goes out to him and his family.

I’m not sure what else to write here. I wish there was more that I could do for him. I know I have only known him and his son for a short amount of time, but they have been kind to me and I wish I could make this situation easier for them.

Sensei Beata was at the dojo, along with another student named Matt.

Instead of taekwondo, Matt showed Sensei Beata and I another form of martial arts. It has a bases in kung fu, but I honestly can’t remember what it was called.

It was a lot of fun though. It felt really solid.

I stayed for one hour of the aikido open circle class afterwards. It’s a two hour long session, but I wanted to get home. Looking back at it, I probably should have stayed since I didn’t do much with my time afterwards.

I cooked the chili last night and at 11pm I set the corned beef to cook in the slow cooker so it would be done by the time I got up this morning.

I watched Escape from Planet Earth last night, which was an adorable movie. Some of the parts felt forced or overdone, but I really enjoyed it. It reminded me of my younger brother and I. How we have disagreements all the time, but in the end we still love each other more than anything in the world.

I haven’t cross stitched in a while, which doesn’t really bother me, but I think it will if I don’t do something with it tonight. I also haven’t listened to any of audio book I started the other night. Again, not actively bothering me, but if I don’t make time for it today I think it will.

The cabbage is cooking at the apartment at the moment. So I have to go back there after laundry is done, rather than going to the gym. But that means I can put the cloths away, go to the gym, then go to work for SAL.

Pretty much the same routine, just with two things switched around. No biggie.

I need to finish doing the tweaks to Cyphera’s rig so we can send the files to Ray. That shouldn’t be more than an hour of work. After that it’s school stuff. After that… I really don’t know.

There’s aikido fundamentals tonight at 7, followed by aikido open at 8. Most likely doing both of those. At least if my shin allows me.

I took Advil with the Nyquil last night, so right now it doesn’t consciously bother me, but I know it’s more because the pain is masked than because it’s better.

That’s one of the reasons I don’t like taking medication. It doesn’t fix the problem. It just makes it so you don’t know it’s there.

I need to be gentle with myself for the next few days. Low impact. Maybe core work…

We’ll see.

Anyway, the wash needs to be moved to the dryer, so I suppose I’ll go for now and stop being a slacker.

Greetings traveler! Leave your tidings here.

