Prompt Page 0036: I Want to Know What Love Is

Standard

We each have many types of love relationships — parents, children, spouses, friends. And they’re not always with people; you may love an animal, or a place. Is there a single idea or definition that runs through all the varieties of “love”?

For me, compassion.

No matter what relationship, what level or depth of love I feel, there is an underlying current of compassion.

Google: compassion:define

Result: noun – sympathetic pity and concern for the sufferings or misfortunes of others

Laymen: I care

I care if you hurt, physically emotionally, or spiritually. I care if something unjust is done to you. I care if something goes wrong. I care if you’re happy.

I want to be part of your story, and I want to know how things end. I want to know all of the crazy plot twists.

I’m invested in you.

I care about you.

I love you.

Google: love:define

Result: noun – an intense feeling of deep affection.

No where in that definition does it talk about sex. It might be a bit of a pet peeve on my part, but relationships do not have to have sex to ‘be real’, or for the feelings to be love.

Love is not defined by sex.

The two can be connected, but one does not instantly connect, or entitle, you to the other.

Sex != Love

Love != Sex

!= is Python coding syntax for “does not equal”

And I find that my age group does not understand that.

Love is caring, and being there. Love is time and investment. Love is effort. Love is giving.

Love is something deeper, more real, than the surface of bare skin.

So I’m unashamed to say that I love a lot of people, and that I have a lot of love in my life. Because what that really means is that I care for a lot of people, and a lot of people care about me.

5 thoughts on “Prompt Page 0036: I Want to Know What Love Is

  1. I’ve felt for a long time that there seems to be a key piece of learning missing from most childhoods. It is simply that love does not always equal romantic love. We usually understand the concept well enough in a family context, but outside the family, love seems to always be hypersexualized. “If you love someone, you must want to kiss them and hug them and hold them close.” What if loving someone of the opposite sex, or the same sex, simply meant that you wanted the best for that person, no matter the personal cost? The trouble is that most people are not comfortable with that definition. Love nearly always demands something from both parties; attention, affection, adoration, service. We do not encourage unrequited love because we see it as a pitiful waste. But it is good for the human heart to love, no matter what the result.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My concept of love was another thing that always seemed to set me apart from my peers. It’s like my view is an alien concept to them.

      You can’t love more than one person. You can’t love them unless you’re in a relationship with them. That’s what love is. Love is only romantic. Intimate. And what’s worse is when you’re in a relationship and there is the expectation of intimacy. If you aren’t sexually involved then you don’t love the other person.

      When I bring up the love of siblings, parents, and friends, they brush it off. That’s different. There are different ‘types’ of love.

      No… there’s not… Love is love. I think society is confused about what the word actually encompasses.

      In a way it’s sort of sad. It’s no wonder that people think they can’t find ‘true love’. They don’t know what love is.

      How can you find something when you don’t know what you’re looking for?

      Liked by 1 person

Greetings traveler! Leave your tidings here.

