Musing Moment 0020: 30 Day Challenge – Day 11

Standard

We’re moving on to skill mastery today.

We’ve got our goals lined up. We know what we’re working towards, but most of the time there’s information or some skill that we need in order to get to where we want to be. There’s this knowledge hurdle we have to get over before we can start making the progress we want.

Today is where we figure out what that skill, or skills, may be. For some it may be figuring out social networking more so they can gain more exposure. Others may be some sort of home improvement endeavor. Time management is another skill that can help.

There are countless skills out there, and the one(s) you want to focus on really depends on your push goal.


Push Goal #1
Complete one personal
career related project each week.


This can get a little dicey as far as figuring out a ‘skill’ that I need to research in order to help complete it.

“Career related” is a little vague I admit. I could be creating a script, or an animation. I could be constructing a rig or lighting a CG scene. All of those things require an in-depth skill set, and all of those skill sets are immensely different.

So the ‘skills’ I would need to research and develop really depend on the project I am doing at the time.

Same with my other push goal.


Push Goal #2
Complete one personal
craft project each month.


Am I doing a digital painting? A commissioned cross stitch? A graphite sketch? All vastly different and unique, so the skills I need will vary from project to project.

Eventually I will have specific skills to focus on, such as learning how to run an Etsy store, or becoming more familiar with HTML5 and CSS to structure my website better. But for the stage I am currently at, my focus will change drastically from project to project.

Really, in the scheme of things, these ‘projects’ are more like mini-projects, building blocks that I need before I can start tackling the larger projects which will actually move me forward towards my bigger goals.

These ‘push goals’ are more habits than goals, but I need to focus on them so I can get to where I want to be.

And I’m ok with that. As I move onto different projects I will research tutorials, set ups, as well as tips and tricks to help me with my tasks, and once I feel I have enough content I will begin focusing on the bigger projects which will require research and development of new skills.

The skill for this week will be researching tips and tricks for creating podcasts, since that is the next step in my “Revamp Curves Tool” project. I feel I make pretty decent podcast demos, but there’s always room for improvement, so lets see where I can improve.

And with that, away I go to consult the all mighty Google.


30 Day Challenge – Chalene Johnson


Greetings traveler! Leave your tidings here.

