Daily Post 0130: Ending a Good Day

Standard

Today started at 4:30 am. Work was actually pretty awesome. I got to go fairly in-depth with a student about how to optimize one of the tools he scripted out. That meant I didn’t really have much time for anything else on my list, but it was so refreshing to be able to actually go into those topics. It was definitely a charge for me, and he was so happy when he got the dynamic version of his code working. It was a great feeling to know I was part of that.

That smile, those feelings… that’s why I do my job. That’s what makes it feel worth it. I make a difference.

After work I ran to the bank and deposited my tax return check, then headed to the dentist. I was actually only there for about 30 minutes. Fairly painless aside from having my personal space invaded. Sorry, but there’s something about weird hands being shoved into my face that makes me uncomfortable… And the sound of drills grinding my teeth away to dust resonating within my skull…

Yeah… I have no idea why people dislike the dentist. Seems like a perfectly normal place to spend your Monday morning.

Really it wasn’t that bad. My dentist is super nice, and actually remembers me. Before I left we set up a tentative cleaning appointment for December. There’s nothing else to do in that regard. Huzzah.

I went to the storage unit after my appointment to finish that task up. It ended up being pretty awesome. There were two bookcases in the ‘reuse’ area. The black ones you can get at Walmart. The exact same one that I have in my room. So… they’re now in my storage unit because you can never have too many bookcases.

I figured I have the space to store them, and if I don’t end up wanting them later I can always put them back and let someone else take them.

That being said, moving everything alone was basically a strength workout. I was pretty spent by the time I was done. I turned the van in, which ended up being cheaper than I thought, then came home.

Zane wanted to sleep until around 12:30, which left me some time to myself. I was too amped up from moving stuff to sleep, which actually sort of sucked because I need to be getting more of that… Even though it wasn’t cool, I used the time to research more into this whole debt collection thing because it hasn’t been sitting well with me.

I found so many posts about this agency specifically. Without going into details, because they honestly don’t matter, and because it’s almost 1am and I’m too tired to really care about writing it all out… I’m not going to be paying it.

I talked to my mom about it for a while, explaining the information I found, what I felt, and listening to what she thought / felt. It was nice to know that she shared my opinion and concerns.

So I have / had and extra $98.

When Zane woke up we talked about a few things like groceries, how we wanted to set up the kitchen for the few things I have, and how we wanted to go about doing the chorese for the day.

We ended up going to the smoke shop so he could get mint shisha, then to Chile’s so we could have a nice lunch together. From there we actually came back to the apartment to put the food away and to wait for rush hour to die down.

When we finally ventured back out we went to a frozen yogurt shop, then to Publix.

Since we had leftovers from lunch no one had to cook dinner once we got home. Always a score in my book.

We’re going to be doing stuffed tomatoes tomorrow night. I’ve made the recipe before, several times in the past actually, and it always turned out amazing. I’m really looking forward to it.

We watched a few more episodes of Blade of Tempest. I think there’s like 8ish more episodes in the series. It’s getting really good. Zane and I keep speculating about who the Exodus mage is. It’s awesome being able to theorize with someone. We both catch different things and have different takes on a situation, or what a character meant.

I didn’t go to the gym, and part of me does feel bad about that. But I did have an intense day yesterday. I’m partially sunburnt. I moved more this morning, and I haven’t slept much… I feel like I’m being a wimp. But at the same time, it hurts to get out of the chair because my legs are so sore.

It’s moments like this where I don’t know if it’s my type-a personality beating myself up, or if I really am being a slacker and deserve to feel bad.

I’m showered and about to head to bed. I was planning on waking up at 7:30 to do laundry, but that’s so not going to happen. I’m going to sleep for as long as I can, as deep as I can, and take tomorrow as it comes.

I feel like this post is a bit lack luster. My day was good, so I feel like there should be more to this post than that, but I don’t think there’s anything more that needs to be added. Maybe it’s partially from from being tired and partially due to me so left brained at the moment.

Left Brain: List the facts. All that facts. And nothing but the facts.

Right Brain: Aye, aye. Facts, racks, backs, tacks, lats, nats, pats, cats. : D

I swear I should keep a supply of q-tips just to stab my brain sometimes… It more than deserves it.

No… facts are really not the only things that matter, but that’s all I have in me right now. It was a good day. I enjoyed it. I’m sort of glad it’s over so I can curl up in bed.

Greetings traveler! Leave your tidings here.

