Prompt Page 0050: Toy Story

Standard

What was your favorite plaything as a child? Do you see any connection between your life now, and your favorite childhood toy?

When I first read this prompt the first thing I thought of was a specific day. My dad was a mechanic for a nuclear submarine, and one of the places he ended being stationed was in Kings Bay, Georgia.

This is where most of my childhood memories come from. I loved that base. There were bike trails everywhere. My mom would volunteer at our school. We would go swimming at the pool all the time. Sometimes the pool was open at night so they would have the underwater lights on. There was a diving board the I loved jumping off of. They would play the Macarena over the speakers, and every time we would dance to it.

I have very fond memories of this time in my life. I think of it as my sheltered time. Everything was perfect. My parents were still together. I was still doing amazing in school. It was before I knew what depression was.

But I digress.

The day that I thought of for this prompt was a day where my mom had taken John and I to the library. We were allowed to get whatever book we wanted. Once we had checked out we came back home.

I guess something was up with the housing unit we were in because a few guys from maintaince showed up. I was too busy with my book to listen to their conversation, but I remember one of the guys asked me what I was reading.

I smiled wide and flipped the book around to show him pictures of whales.

“Are you home schooling them?” The guys asked my mom.

“No. It’s what she wanted to read.” My mom replied.

That pretty sums up most of my life. Yeah I had toys. Barbies, Polly Pockets, Legos, then computer games and card games. Yeah I watched cartoons and did ‘normal’ kid stuff.

But mostly I watched the Discorvery channel, the History channel, the Science channel. Mostly I read about science things. Fictional diaries about princesses and what their lives were actually like.

Play always seemed more fun when my brain was engaged in thinking. I wanted to learn more, about everything. My favorite toy was knowledge.

Greetings traveler! Leave your tidings here.

