Prompt Page 0055: Memory on the Menu

Standard

“Which good memories are better — the recent and vivid ones, or those that time has covered in a sweet haze?”

Interesting.

I suppose this is another instance where I’m going to be weird and all INFJ like.

Most of the things I remember are hazy to be honest. It’s one of the reasons I write daily, so I can remember most everything that did happen and the order they happened in.

When something is extremely vivid it’s because of the emotions associated with it, and those emotions are so strong and real it’s as if the event is happening all over again. I can remember the texture of the clothing, the smells in the air, the way the sun felt. I can remember the emotions I was picking up from other people.

Remembering things like my graduation is actually sort of hard because not only do I remember the sense of pride and happiness, but I remember the anxiety and fear I felt. I remember the nervousness of giving my graduation speech. It’s mildly frustrating because even just typing about it makes my fingers tremble as if I’m holding the paper in my hands all over again. I can remember being terrified that my cape was going to fall off.

Super embarrassing moments where I wanted to fall of the face of the Earth and die… Yep… like it just happened yesterday. Moments where I received a gift and felt so loved and cared for that I cried… Teary eyed all over again.

For me, those moments exist outside of time. They could have happened yesterday, or back when I as five years old. Yeah, I actually have a few moments from way back then.

So I suppose neither, both, all, none? Memory is a weird thing for me and I don’t know how to explain it better than what I have. I feel my memories, relive them, more than actually remembering them.

Time can wash away a lot of the day to day things for me, but there are certain moments Time will never be able to distort or take away from me.

2 thoughts on “Prompt Page 0055: Memory on the Menu

Greetings traveler! Leave your tidings here.

