Daily Post 0179: Possible Employment and the Weekend Recap

Standard

It feels like I have a ton to write about. I’m going to make a quick list so I can make sure I hit most of my marks.

Zane’s interview
CADLearning reply
Pathfinder game / date day
New class issue / worry
Weekly focus – painting

No hurricane
Conversation with Warren #1

I think that’s about it. At least those are the main points that I can remember right now. More things might pop up as I go through it all.

So, this morning Zane woke up to an email from the call center he applied to. He has a phone interview, which he can complete either today or tomorrow, and an in person interview on the 10th. The position is paying full-time with overtime for a little over $13 an hour. The job would start on October 12th.

It’s not official yet, but it looks really, really, insanely promising. We are both hoping it works out. We’re not counting on it. He still plans to apply to a few other leads that we’ve gotten. One is for 911 dispatch. The other is a part time job as a forum moderator online.

That’s actually something that I may be applying to as well. It’s a build-your-own-schedule sort of a job. Roughly 10 to 16 hours depending for about $9 an hour. I don’t know much about it. Zane is supposed to send me more information. After I look into it I’ll make a decision on if it’s something I want to do.

But yeah. Things are looking up in this area of life. Even if the job doesn’t start until October, it would be full-time for a decent wage, and it would give both of us something to hold on to. It would give us an end date for the stress and worry.

I woke up to an email from the CAD Learning site with a link to all of the exercise files that I need for my book. Woohoo! I’m not sure if I’m going to start work on them today. I sort of have my day mapped out already, as detached and jagged as it feels. If I find some down time then I make go back and do the two exercises that I’ve already read through.

Last night was the Pathfinder game and date day. Zane and I went to Zaxby’s for lunch, which was nice, but frustrating at the same time. It was a little crowded and loud, but since we had plans to do the last bit of grocery shopping after lunch we didn’t want to get the food to go since it would have to sit in the car. After a little bit a few of the bigger / louder groups left and it wasn’t as bad.

The grocery shopping ended up being a bust. The Publix we went do didn’t have two of the three items we were looking for. We’re most likely going to go to Walmart tomorrow since that’s my “late day” this month.

We stopped by Taco Bell on the way home and got a taco box for game night. I also had to stop by the bank to deposit $20. I had forgotten to use the cash in my wallet for pay for lunch and instead swiped my card. We’re doing good about sticking to the budget, though. We’re right on target for the “play money” I set aside, and for both gas and grocery we’re under budget.

Uke brought chips and soda for game night, and Zane used the extra pinto beans that we had from the nachos to make a bean dip. All in all it was a good night. Our party was attacked by acid spitting river drakes. We’re currently still in the middle of combat, but one of the drakes totally just got owned hardcore, so I think we’re doing alright.

My work schedule is the same this month as it was last month, just on opposite days. So Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays I’m going to be working 9pm to 1am. It’s sort of annoying having to work that late on a Saturday. It means I can’t stay up crazy late on Sundays since I have to be to work a bit earlier on Mondays, but that shouldn’t be too bad. Uke starts classes today, so he won’t be able to stay over crazy late, which means the games will have to end at a decent hour for both of us.

I logged into the online platform for my classes today and saw that I was scheduled for two classes rather than one. I emailed my Faculty Affairs contact about the issue to see if it was an error. It was and we got it straightened out already.

I guess next month is supposed to be an actually brick and mortar class for me. I’m not sure if I will be able to do that with my schedule. All of my remaining classes will be on campus classes. When I first signed up I didn’t have an issue with that, having been online for so long now, over a year, I’m not sure campus classes work well for me. I like the flexibility of online. It doesn’t interfere with work or the gym.

I might see about switching to the online degree. I’m going to do a bit more research before inquiring about the change.

Since it is the beginning of a new week I have a new focus as far as the art side of things goes. I’m going to be digital painting this week. I’ve already spent some time online looking at coloring book pages and line art. I have a folder full of things that I want to color, so now it’s just picking one or two pictures a day to color.

I hoping this helps with my shading / coloring abilities, and keeps me fresh with Photoshop and using my tablet since I haven’t been in the program for a bit, or used my tablet for much of anything recently. I don’t want to get rusty, and this gives me a break from my art book.

I need to get a new one at some point. I only have five blank pages left. New graphit pencils would be awesome, too. : x

So Florida is not going to be getting a hurricane. I’m not sad about that fact. It’s been raining off and on, which is nice. I like listening to the rain. I got caught in my car for a little bit though on Saturday. When I was on my way home from the store it started raining super hard. Like, driving with your hazards on hard. It was still pretty intense when I parked at the apartment, so I hung out about 10 minutes for it to lighten up enough for me to dash inside with my backpack and the grocery bags.

Saturday I ended up getting a message from Warren #1, my first boyfriend, on Facebook. I haven’t talked to him in almost a year. He’s doing well. We ended up chatting on the phone for about an hour. There was a development in his life that he wanted some advice on since it was in my ‘realm’.

It was good to hear from him, and Zane didn’t mind that we talked.

Zane and I actually went through his coin jar the other night and put all of them into rolls. He ended up having $13, $4 in just pennies, so he bought pizza with it for Saturday night.

I got my credit and debit card from the bank finally. Both of those are activated and good to go.

Mom is most likely on a plane to Vegas right now. I’m going to message her later to see how she’s doing, and to let her know that life doesn’t suck as much right now; that things are looking up.

Nicole started her first day of work at her company in Tennessee. I’ve already wished her luck.

I feel a little scatter-brained today. I keep bouncing around on my to-do list, but I’m plucking away at it, and I guess that’s the important thing. I might not be flowing with seamless grace from thing to thing, but I’m not a train wreck, either. I should get points for that.

TLDR: Friday through Sunday was great. And the week is looking pretty good from where I’m sitting.

Greetings traveler! Leave your tidings here.

