Musing Moment 0067: Day 15

Standard

Day 15 – Thanks for thinking of me

Chalene’s 30 day challenge has really helped me out in the past. I think day 15, when I actually ended up getting to it, helped me out the most.

A lot of the stress I tend to feel comes from biting off more than I can chew. I accept projects that I really shouldn’t. I take on things out of a sense of obligation because I feel bad, or wrong, saying no, even though the extra work doesn’t have a payoff for me, or any sort of benefit.

Day 15 focuses on learning to say “no” without actually saying it. I’ve gotten super good at it, and I don’t feel soul crushing ickiness when I decline something anymore. I’m not saying it wasn’t hard at first, but it got easier, and I feel like I’m in a better place for having learned my own limits and respecting them.

When I feel myself burning out I acknowledge it and take a step back. I delegate tasks to other people when I need to, and I don’t kick myself for weakness anymore. At least I try not to.

Chalene’s tip is to try to change our initial, knee-jerk reaction to always accept things instantly.

Instead, she recommends trying to say, “Oh wow. Thanks so much for thinking of me. Let me check out my schedule first, and I’ll get back to you.”

This gives you a chance to think about whatever is going on, evaluate it, and determine, without pressure, if it’s something you actually want to take on.

I know it’s helped me out over and over again, and it’s one of the many things I’m grateful for having picked up.

2 thoughts on “Musing Moment 0067: Day 15

Greetings traveler! Leave your tidings here.

