Musing Moment 0072: Days 21 – 23

Standard

Day 21 – Review

Nothing super specially about today. It’s pretty much just a chance to go back and rewatch a section that you found especially helpful, or maybe confusing. You know, sort of reinforce all of the information that’s been thrown at us over the past 20 days. : )

Day 22 – Help Isn’t Bad

Chanele uses today to try to help cure us of our phobia when it comes to asking for help. I know I’m still guilty of it. I hate, absolutely loath, having to admit that I can’t do something on my own. It makes me feel weak, incompetent, inferior… the list goes on and on.

I feel like it makes me less dependable and that it reflects poorly on me.

But that’s not the case. And in a lot of instances we would be better off if we accepted the help that was freely offered to us. A lot of the time we turn help away. We don’t even have to ask for it. We just find it better to shoot ourselves in the foot then to let someone else feel useful and important.

Like I said, I know this is an area that I need to work on. Having assistance, asking for help, isn’t a bad thing. Let other people be part of the awesome things you’re working on. Let them help you reach your goals.

Day 23 – Environment is Everything

I don’t work well at home.

Actually… I take that back.

I don’t work well at home when other people are home. I just can’t do it for some reason. Knowing that there are other people out in the living room playing games, that Zane might come into the room and destroy my workflow, that Trevor and John are having a super loud conversation right outside my door… it eats away at my concentration so the work that I do get done takes longer to do, and normally isn’t up to par with what I want.

When I’m alone in the apartment working is heaven on Earth. No noise unless I’m playing music. No distractions. It’s great.

The same goes for my actually “work” space at work. If people are being annoying then I can’t get much done.

So for me, environment is a huge factor with it comes to my productivity. I need everything to be where I put it so I know where it’s at when I need it. I need to be left along unless I need information from someone, in which case I want a quick reply so I can keep moving forward with my task. But in general, once I know what I need to do I want to be left alone to do it. My own little bubble of seclusion.

I like for my environment to be on the dim side, and cool. I like having water nearby with a snack that I’ll most likely never touch, but it’s nice to know it’s there. I like having my cross stitch with me so when I get to a mile stone, or a break point, I can stitch a couple of threads while I think over the next phase of the project I’m working on, battle planning it out, or revising the game plan I already had in mind.

I’ve had a lot of experience with figuring out what makes my environment work with me rather than against me. It’s something that is constantly evolving. I’m always trying new things, different things, to see if I like something else better.

What makes your environment work for you? That’s what Chalene wants us to focus on today. Think about things in your space that you can improve that might boost your productivity, or reduce the friction you feel when you do sit down to work.

Greetings traveler! Leave your tidings here.

