Daily Post 107: Mom Has Been Hospitalized

Standard

This is the first time since I flew out to Vegas that I have had time in front of a computer. That was Tuesday at 3am. I’m tired. I’m hanging in there. We all are. Even mom. I will write more as I have time to. I wanted to put this message on my blog while I had a second inbetween everything that is going on so I can have a marker for all of the events. There is so much, so many things, emotions, moments, people, tasks.

 

So much.

 

Jason is being the stoic leader of the family. John is being the medical guru, and I am being the organized force making sure all on the life side of things is still getting taken care of. I called my mom’s work, the landlord, and I made this message on Facebook and made sure as many people were added to it as needed to be. I’m manning the helm and making sure that no Is or Ts are forgotten as we try to make it through this storm.

 

We will not come out unscathed. But we will come out of it. Somehow. Some way. I know I will make it through this, and while I am around people I can keep it together. But when I’m alone it is so very hard to believe it. I don’t understand how I will. I don’t understand how I’m breathing much less taking care of things.

 

I’m hanging in there. We all are.


 

 

Original Facebook Message

Hi everyone,

 

I know this may be a bit impersonal but I couldn’t think of a more efficient way of reaching everyone with consistent information. All of you are either extremely important friends of mine, extremely important friends of my mom, or in most cases, both, and I felt you had a right to know what has happened.

 

A bit of backstory first…

 

Mom went to the doctor’s office early last week and was diagnosed with phenomena and a UTI. She was prescribed antibiotics and told to rest. Fast forwards to the day before yesterday… Mom still wasn’t feeling well so she went back to the doctor’s to see why the medication wasn’t working.

 

She ended up having to have emergency surgery and was placed in ICU afterward. They didn’t think she would make it through the night.

 

SHE DID THOUGH.

 

I want everyone to know that fact. Mom made it through because she’s a fighter. She started breathing on her own, and they were able to take her off of the blood pressure meds.

 

Mom is doing better. She is still in and out of sleep but is more and more lucid when she’s awake. She’s able to answer the doctor’s questions when she’s asked about the date, location, the people around her. Etc. She even joked with me and the ICU nurse last night.

 

At 3am this morning she was downgraded from ICU to a med surge unit and has been sleeping on and off since then.

 

The short-term goal is to make sure she is stable and recovering from the surgery, which seems to be going well.

 

Mid to long term we’re still not sure. While they were taking x-rays after the surgery they found masses in her lungs. They are running tests to see what information they can find out. If those don’t provide useful information the hospital wants to do a biopsy to see if she has cancer.

 

Aside from knowing that mom is doing better in this very specific moment, we don’t know much else.

 

Again, I apologize for the fact that for some of you this is the first you have heard of the news. The past 36 hours have been intense and aside from mostly immediate family we haven’t had a chance to ensure everyone knew about the situation.

 

If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to message me. I can’t promise I will be able to answer right away, but I will do my best to respond as soon as I am able to.

 

Thank you all for your understanding and support during this situation. I will keep you updated as we learn more.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Daily Post 107: Mom Has Been Hospitalized

  1. I’ve started this comment three times because I don’t know what to say. I can’t believe this is happening to you. You sound like you’ve checked into business mode to handle things, which is completely understandable. I do the same thing when the situation is worse than I can handle if I stopped to think about it. Being reliable and strong and the one who thinks of things that would otherwise be neglected becomes everything we are. It has to be. Somehow we have to keep it together, because as hard as it is, we’re not the one it’s happening to. It doesn’t change the fact that there’s life-altering events that have transpired in a matter of moments. Still, we have to keep breathing and tasking and make room for talking and crying and laughing. I don’t know if any of this is relatable right now, but I want you to know that I’m thinking of you and praying for you and your family. Try to get some good sleep. Drink more water than you think you need. And know that you are valued for all you say and do and are. Love to you and yours, friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Mama Spike. I’m doing better now that I’ve had some time to break down and cry a lot of it out of my system. I’m back to being able to think and formulate plans of action, and take care of things.

      “Doing” is my therapy. It’s not so much avoidance like what my younger brother things. It lets me be useful. I’m not a medical person like so many other people in my mom’s circle. When the doctor’s talk to me it feels like a different language and when I try to explain things I don’t say the right words or I can’t remember them, or the numbers get confused in my head. It’s so much, and I feel inadequate and useless.

      But I know how to take care of people, and manage life, and make sure bills get paid, and lots of other things that other people are forgetting or are too busy to take time to do. “Doing” lets me be useful in my own way. It’s letting me help, and that’s what I need right now. I need to not be a burden, and when someone says “Thanks for doing that. I didn’t even think of it,” it validates something inside of me. It lets me know that I’m not a waste of space right now, or a burden. I’m pulling my own weight, even if it’s a different kind of weight.

      You’re message means the world to me. Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to reach out to me and for letting me know that I’m not alone. I will keep posting updates as I’m able to.

      Things are going better. Mentally I’m in a better spot that I was earlier this morning. I got some sleep. I’ve eaten. I’m about to go shopping for food and apartment stuff before going back to the hospital. We’re finding a rhythm, a routine, and that in itself is reassuring for me. There’s order to the chaos.

      I’m going to get going to I can take care of that before trying to catch another nap. Thank you again. So much. You’re an amazing person and I’m grateful to have you in my life.

      Liked by 1 person

Greetings traveler! Leave your tidings here.

