Daily Post 113: The Return to Work

Standard

Written last night. Posted this morning. 


It feels slightly odd to be typing, doing a daily post. It’s not the same like it was before. It doesn’t feel wrong, but like so many other things in my day to day life, it’s different. There’s a weight that wasn’t there before. A realness.

 

Part of me feels like prattling about my daily life is meaningless. Shallow. And another part of me thinks that it’s therapeutic. Healthy. Healing.

 

I got a lot done today. I didn’t have a single cigarette. I didn’t have the drink that I thought I was going to need / want either.

 

I’ve been watching The Future Dairy with Sir and Em. It’s an amazing show, right up there with Ergo Proxy and Attack on Titan.

 

I got caught up on all of my emails, and blog comments, and posts that I haven’t been reading. I checked my work email and figured out my schedule since I go back to work tomorrow. It’s not too bad this month. Mondays, Wednesday, and Fridays 11am to 3pm. Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays 5pm to 9pm.

 

I plan to do the gym thing in the mornings. I’m going to have to condition to get back to where I was. I may do strength in the morning at the gym and finish off the day with cardio here at the apartment. I’m not going to be biking to work so I’m going to have to get those seven miles in somehow. >.<;

 

Sir and I took a bunch of stuff to Goodwill. He just moved into a new apartment with Em, so there was stuff to get rid of… like the five computer monitors he’s had since we were dating. I mean seriously… five? You need five? >.>

 

So that was fun. We got money from an ATM then went to do laundry. Of course we got there and realized we had left the apartment without any laundry detergent… So we had to go back and get that. We ended up going to a different laundry mat. One that was closer to the apartment rather than the Goodwill.

 

While the clothes were drying I went to the store to get some things I needed for lunches and dinner. Em had gone to some sort of social function. I know zombies were involved but that’s about it. She ended up coming back home and picked Sir up while I was at the store.

 

I cooked shrimp scampi for dinner, pre-cooked bacon for my breakfasts, made tuna for lunches and continued watching The Future Diary. I folded and organized all of my clothing. I’ve prepped for tomorrow, making sure I have everything squared away. I’ve written my to-do list already. I’ve brushed my teeth.

 

I feel like I’ve done a lot while still keeping things low key. Zane and I hadn’t talked at all today until about 30 minutes ago. He said Uke might continue to pay rent, which would help things for him. I had been told he was going to move out once he left to join the Navy. I guess we’ll see.

 

As far as a daily post that’s about it.

 

I’m tired. Tomorrow I think is going to be hard. I’m going to have to talk to Frank. I’m going to have to go back to work. I’ve been to the break room already, but this is the first time I’ll be there to actually work. I don’t know why it feels different in my head, but it does.

 

Maybe it’s because there will be obligations and expectations. I can handle it though. And if it becomes too much I can excuse myself and step out to the bathroom or something. I’m not trapped. That’s the key thing to remember. I can leave. I can breathe.

 

One step at a time. One chore at a time. I’m not obligated to get everything done tomorrow. They’re just ideas. Sort of like a wish list. Whatever I get done is amazing.

 

And with that I guess I’ll turn in for the night and try not to worry too much about tomorrow.

Greetings traveler! Leave your tidings here.

