Daily Post 134: Potential Job

Standard

Yesterday didn’t go how I thought it would, but I guess that could potentially be a good thing.

 

Friday my writing was interrupted by a phone call from the apartment hunter. There was a place that looked really promising. The units were even on the ground floor. Screened in patios, washer and dryers in the units. Convenient location to everything I want. Pet-friendly…

 

I decided to go talk to them before they closed, which didn’t leave me with time to finish my writing. I showered and drove the five minutes to the complex. I talked to the guy there. I toured the model floor plan. I explained a bit of my situation and became more frustrated with society than I already was.

 

Because I’m unemployed I’m essentially the bane of existence to society. Because I’m unemployed it doesn’t matter what I have in my bank account. Because I’m unemployed my brother has to sign some forms saying he’s responsible for rent and that he makes four times the required amount.

 

I have enough money to pay for the year in full, but that doesn’t matter. I was in the top 10% of my department for work performance, but that doesn’t matter. I have amazing renter’s history and fantastic credit and I’ve always paid my taxes but none of that matters either. It doesn’t matter that I have an outstanding work ethic, or that my mom died, or that I have plans to get a job and that I’m not actually a freeloader.

 

I’m unemployed. I suck and would be a terrible tenant and I don’t deserve to have a place to live.

 

I’m still coming to terms with how our society is set up I guess. I’m still left wondering what’s the point of being an amazing employee, or a decent citizen when none of it matters or helps you when you need help. It’s frustrating. It’s frustrating that I don’t even really need help I just need for there to not be all of this BS in the way. What does it matter if I don’t have income when I can guarantee the year up front? 

 

Tangent aside, I filled out an application. It was too late to get to the bank and back in time with the processing fee, but I arranged to be at the office first thing when they opened in the morning. After that, since I had missed boxing to go to the apartment complex, I came back to the room and got ready for dinner since I had promised Corey his IOU.

 

Dinner was nice. We went to Kobe which is a Japanese steak house. I had leftovers at the end since there’s always so much food. That ended up being breakfast the next day.

 

I woke up at 9am so I could make it to the bank to get the check for the apartment complex. I also got a check for Corey since I was buying his couch from him along with getting the mattresses. I gave him more money than we agreed to. He’s been supportive of me during this time and he agreed to help me move everything, so I felt like it was the right thing to do.

 

After the bank I dashed over to the apartment office. Mr. Dude said he would send me an email with the forms my brother needed to fill out. Shocker… the email still hasn’t arrived. Even checked the spam folder. Much lame.  It only adds fuel to the fire of my seething annoyance with society.

 

At least I can send a fucking email on time. /flips middle finger at no one in general

 

Anywho, once the check was handed over, which secures the apartment until the application process is concluded, I went to pick up the Uhaul truck. Went to Corey’s, loaded it up, then started driving to the storage unit where I proceeded to bitch talk about the apartment situation.

 

That’s where yesterday started to deviate from what I had expected it to be. Corey mentioned how his company was looking for CG artists, and how they needed someone pretty much ASAP. He brought up the job posting and read off the requirements / desires to me. Some of them I fit, some of them I don’t.

 

We basically agreed that it didn’t hurt to apply, and that since he knew the art director he would mention me and send my resume to him directly. Once we were done at the storage unit I began seeing what I needed to do to apply for this job.

 

I needed to update my resume, website, YouTube, Vimeo, and LinkedIn. Cool… so I’m a total slacker and need to update everything… I can do this. First things first… let’s focus on the resume. All I need to do is find the original Illustrator file… but on yeah… my desktop is in the storage unit I just left, you know… 30 minutes away and I guess I never put the Illustrator file on Dropbox… So I guess I need to remake my resume since that would be faster than driving back, setting up my computer, getting the file, then editing whatever it is that I need to… That’s fine. I wanted to change the structure a bit anyway. This gives me a clean slate to do it.

 

So now all I need is a computer with Illustrator. No worries. I’m sure one of my former coworkers has a lab today. They can badge me into the building and I can use a school computer for a few hours… Oh… except that no one is on campus today…. Fuuuuuuuuu… Come on, Universe… A bone… something… I’m going to make this work, dammit, and you can’t stop me. 

 

I ended up messaging Frank. He said he had Illustrator CS5 on his computer and that I was welcome to use it. Hooray!

 

I went over and banged out a new resume in a few hours. It was nice to be inside of Illustrator again, though it would have been easier to align all of the text in InDesign. By the time I was done recreating the resume it was six-ish. I was supposed to have card night with Frank and everyone at seven, but I was on a roll and wanted to get everything done as soon as possible.

 

Frank seemed to understand and wished me luck. I came back to my room where I proceeded to go through my other sites, updating information, correcting typos no one ever told me about, and deleting videos which were no longer relevant. Mostly those videos were things I had to post for school and didn’t want on my professional sites anymore.

 

So all of my stuff is cleaned up. The only other things I want to do is type up a cover letter and possibly print out some pictures of my traditional artwork since that was a desired skill to have according to the posting. It wouldn’t be a super nice portfolio, but I can make it work given the short notice, and I think as long as it’s clean that having something is better than nothing.

 

Big Bad came over later in the evening. It was a nice to let go of all of the stress regarding the apartment and this potential job. Getting the job would mean society can go fuck itself. If I get the artist position and not the QA tester I will be making way more than what I ever did at Full Sail and there would be no question about being able to secure an apartment, any apartment. 

 

If I happen to get an interview I’m going to be up front about my situation and how December is going to suck. At the moment it’s back to playing the waiting game I suppose since I won’t know anything today, most likely for the next few days.

 

As far as how today is supposed to shape out. I have combat practice for SCA in 20 minutes, so I’ll be late showing up but I’m ok with that. It’s a three-hour practice today. I most likely won’t stay for all of it. But it will be good to get out and have some sunshine for a little bit. It will be good to practice something that I can lose myself in.

 

I started listening to American Gods the other day. It’s good so far, and longer than the young adult books I’ve been listening to, so it should last me a little bit. After combat I’ll most likely come back, shower, and stitch for a bit while listening to the book. Maybe after I write that pesky cover letter… Eventually I need to go grocery shopping since I’m down to not having food again. At least nothing except burger patties, which are good, but doesn’t leave me much else.

 

So I’m hoping today is a fairly low key day. And with that I’m off to go beat people up with swords.

 

Greetings traveler! Leave your tidings here.

