Daily Post 031: Personal Training

Standard

I could have been responsible and gone to sleep at a decent hour…

Or…

I could have done all of the things I did without regrets…

I’ll let you know how I feel about my decision to stay up late at 5 am tomorrow morning. XD

Today was a pretty good day. I woke up sort of tired. I guess that’s to be expected when I don’t go to sleep at a decent hour. I don’t have much hope of tomorrow morning being much better, but I’m happy with how my day went.

I enjoyed my cup of coffee and I still made it to work early enough to have breakfast alone in the breakroom. The first half of class was interesting and engaging. We had a guy from the Biomed department come and explain the water system to us and give us a giant list of all new important numbers we have to remember along with everything else.

Sooo many numbers. x.x

The second half of class sucked. Like, hardcore, “OMG I want to bash my head against the desk” level of suck. Mostly because we were sitting there listening to the instructor (not the awesome engaging Biomed guy) read powerpoint slides to us. There wasn’t a discussion. There wasn’t any sort of higher level brain function. It was literally just sitting there and suffering through things we had already received video training on. It wasn’t even new content. It was stuff we literally already knew and there was no way to fast forward through the slow, agonized monotone reading.

Arg.

But, good news. I survived it. Huzzah! And I don’t have to see that instructor until next Monday. Hooray!

I found out that one of my favorite teammates had a really shitty first day at her clinic on Friday. We talked about it as we walked to our cars after class. In six months she might try to switch over to my clinic, which would be fantastic. I would love working with her. But that’s in the mid-distant future. The good news in that regard is that I believe she still has a job, and even though the clinic she is being moved to is a bit further away, there’s a chance she can transfer to other clinics once she’s through the RN training, since she’s an RN and not a PCT.

Yay medical acronyms.

Anywho, I talked to Jon. He’s been interested in my company since we’ve been talking about my new job on the phone fairly often. I mean, it is sort of the main thing going on in my life at the moment, which I’m ok with because I really don’t want to bitch about boy drama anytime soon.

I told Jon on Saturday, maybe it was Sunday, that I would see if my trainer knew anyone in the Daytona area that he could talk to. Well, Daytona is too far from our district for my trainer to have a contact of us, but he encouraged Jon to check out the website and go through the application process.

That meant when I got home I worked on revamping Jon’s resume for him. I think he’ll like the layout, but I’m waiting on his approval before doing much else with it.

I went to Muay Thai tonight which was great. I was paired with a guy I have never met before. I found out later that he hasn’t been at the dojo for a while, but he’s good friends with all of the trainers.

It was the first time I’ve really taken hits in the face. I’m glad I wasn’t as flashbacky as I thought I would be. I remember what it was like when Warren #2 hit me. I remember all of the things that followed that incident. I’ve always been worried about how I would handle it, and now I know.

I can take a hit during training.

There was a lot of light sparring tonight. Another first for me with Muay Thai. Normally it’s just drills or conditioning. I guess I’m working my way towards being an MMA master or something. Total killer death machine with my elbows and shins.

Anyway, I got to see James tonight. I haven’t seen him since December. Maybe before then. We didn’t get to talk much, but we did clasp arms and bump shoulders. I would saw it was a “bro” thing except James isn’t like that. It was definitely more of a warrior type of clasp which my inner warrior self is overjoyed with. It’s not like you can randomly go up to people and clasp arms saying, “Hail fellow! Well met!”

II ‘m glad that James is still around and that he wanted to give me a hug. At least I count it as a hug. Warrior hugs are a thing.

I talked to one of my trainers about personal training costs and possible hours. I also asked about coming to the dojo to do yoga and other things earlier in the afternoon once I get out of classes since making it to the evening classes is hard at the moment.

Well, I know have a training session tomorrow after I get out of class. XD

Sometimes I wish I did things slowly or in small incremental steps. Instead, it’s feet first into the deep end more often than not.

So yeah. I have training after class for 30 minutes for $20. Since it’s right after class I don’t have to worry about skipping out on it because I’m tried. I go straight there, get my ass personally kicked, then head home to finish out the day. No more waiting three hours to workout in which time I’m able to talk myself out of going.

Nope. Totally ending that trend before it can become a habit because fuck you, Brain. You’re going and you’ll like it.

I think this will be really good though. I’ll be able to get help with the techniques I’m sort of insecure about. I’m looking forward to it. There’s more to write about in regards to this from a financial aspect, but I really don’t want to get into that at 11 pm. So I’ll save it for another time.

After chatting with my trainer for about forty minutes, since she’s one of the few girls I actually like standing around and talking with, I came home and cooked a pot of beef stir fry. Warren #1 and I got to chat about the financial situation of the apartment. Again, not something I want to go into super deep detail with, but it factors into why I’m ok with exploring the personal training sessions.

I’m hopeful that this month is going to be better than the previous months. Warren seems more energized and less depressed. He’s actually been taking care of himself and tasks that he’s needed to get gone. I want to see where this goes and how it pans out. Maybe things are on an upswing.

Right now that’s about it. I still need to shower and drink my tea, but I’m glad I was able to process through everything. I’m glad that I’m at the end of my day and for the most part my to-do list is taken care of. I know I’ll be tired tomorrow morning, but I’m ok with that. I’ll be able to sleep after my training session, and Wednesday I’ll be back at my clinic getting more comfortable and familiar with my new job and tasks.

Greetings traveler! Leave your tidings here.

